Home > bake sale, cookies, dessert > Snickerdoodles!

Snickerdoodles!


Can you believe it is November already?! It seems like just yesterday it was summer and now the snow falls and freezing temperatures have arrived. So with the cold weather comes my favourite holiday and I never do find it too early to get my holiday spirit kicked into gear. I mean it really does not seem too early when I have already received an invitation for a holiday cookie exchange. I love Christmas time!

Since this will be my daughters first Christmas I have been thinking a lot about all of the traditions that my family (or at least my mom and I, it seems harder to get the men in my life involved with many of the things I love) does every year that make me love this season. I love going out to cut down our own Christmas tree, baking holiday cookies, singing Christmas carols, watching the holiday tv specials and the traditional Christmas Eve and Christmas dinners that we all enjoy so much. I know I will be talking more about these traditions in the weeks to come and can hopefully share some of my favourite holiday recipes with you. On to the cookies!

I had never heard of Snickerdoodles until a few years ago when I was watching an episode of Veronica Mars (so sad they cancelled that show). Veronica was making these yummy looking cookie dough balls and then rolling them in cinnamon and sugar, I have wanted to try them ever since. When Deb from smitten kitchen posted a recipe for these wonderful cookies I added them to my want to try list of recipes, you know that endless list that we hope to get around to at some point! When I finally got around to making them for the first time a couple months ago I fell in love. They felt like home even though I had never tried them before. They are crisp and sugary on the outside and light and chewy on the inside. The cinnamon and sugar coating works so well with the buttery dough, oh YUMMY! Going back to the holidays I think they would be a much loved addition to the holiday cookie tray and great to make for a cookie exchange.

MOM-O-METER: 5 out of 5

These are a great cookie for moms to make. There are only a few ingredients and you can make them in stages if needed, the dough comes together quickly and I found the rolling and coating fun. Plus if you have kids that are of the age to help in the kitchen I think they would love to roll out the cookie balls and coat them in the cinnamon and sugar.

Snickerdoodles
Adapted from smitten kitchen

Makes 4 dozen 2 inch cookies

For the cookie dough:
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup or 2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs

For the cookie coating:

2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.
In a medium bowl sift together the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, and salt and set aside. In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment beat the butter and sugar on medium speed until light and fluffy, 2 or 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the eggs, and beat to combine. Add dry ingredients, and beat to combine.*

In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon for the coating. Use about a tablespoon of dough to form the balls, and roll them in the cinnamon sugar coating. Bake until the cookies begin to crack, about 8 minutes. Transfer the baking sheets to a wire rack to cool about five minutes before transferring the cookies to the rack or your mouth!

*Note: Deb from smitten kitchen said that her dough was too sticky at this point so she needed to refrigerate her dough for about an hour. I did not find this step necessary.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

