Home > All recipes, appetizer, appetizers, pot-luck > Chile Con Queso – Spicy Cheese Dip

Chile Con Queso – Spicy Cheese Dip


Wow, I can’t believe how long it has been since my last post! The holidays and fun with Penelope seem to have been keeping me away from my computer for longer than I had expected. Hopefully this post will mean that I am back in full swing!

Only 6 more days until the Superbowl, who’s excited?!?!? Truth be told, the Superbowl is the only football game that I watch the entire season and even then I think I spend most of that time in the kitchen or catching up with friends. For me the exciting thing about the Superbowl is the party where our friends get together and share yummy food. I make Martha Stewart’s Chili Con Carne every year and this is the only time I make  it as it is a bit labour intensive but totally worth it in the end as it is soooo delicious. So I will again be making that come Sunday. If you are looking for a good meat chili I highly recommend it. Last year I made The Pioneer Woman’s Chili Con Queso and it was quite yummy but it uses Velveeta cheese, which is processed, it was quite yummy but this year I wanted to see if I could find a recipe that used real cheese. I did and with success! So my friends and I will all be enjoying this spicy, cheesy dip during The Superbowl.

Enjoy!

Mom-O-Meter: 4 out of 5
There is some chopping and grating to be done but everything seems to come together pretty easily and the results are delicious!


Chili Con Queso
Adapted from Homesick Texan

1/2 onion, finely diced
3 jalapeno peppers, finely diced
4 cloves of garlic, finely diced
2 tablespoons butter
2 tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
6 cups shredded cheese, I used a combination of Cheddar, Monetery Jack, and Colby
1 10 ounce can of Rotel (I haven’t seen this in Canada but I have friends bring it back to me when they go to visit the States, you can also use a small can of diced tomatoes and a small can of chopped green chilies)
1 pound spicy sausage
1/2 cup sour cream
Salt to taste

While making the cheese sauce brown the sausage in a separate frying pan and drain off the fat and set aside. In a saucepan melt the butter over medium-low heat, add the onions and jalapenos and cook until onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, about a minute. Whisk in the flour and cook for about a minute. Slowly pour in the milk, whisking constantly and continue to whisk as the mixture thickens, about 5 minutes. Stir in the Rotel or tomatoes and chilies. Turn the heat down to low and add the cheese a quarter cup at a time, making sure that all the cheese has melted after each addition before adding the next quarter cup. Stir in the sausage and sour cream and add salt to taste. Serve with tortilla chips and enjoy the cheesy goodness!

  1. lauren
    February 5, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Hey there! I plan on making your recipe for the super bowl tomorrow and was just curious as to how much this recipe makes. Should I halve the recipe for only 4 people?

    • Maressa (Penne)
      February 6, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Yes I would half it for 4 people, hope you enjoy it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

